• Kelly Fredericks

April Showers Bring More Books and Pairings! Happy May Reading!



April 29, 2019

Dear Mr. Hemingway,


Spring is finally in the air. Not only do April showers bring May flowers, but they also bring shiny new books. Today I am sharing four books that will be coming your way this May. I am also including my 2019 May book pairings that will compliment and embellish your lovely new reads. Enjoy this special spring post Mr. H. Happy shopping and happy reading!

Your Biggest Fan,

Kelly

P.S. This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me. My links are not affiliate links. I do not make compensation from these links. Some links may be in collaboration with a book store solely for exposure.



The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren (May 14, 2019)

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren is the quintessential romcom read for this May. I adored this book with all of my heart and reading soul. Olive's identical twin sister is getting married. At the wedding, the entire wedding party except for Olive and the best man (Ethan) get severe food poison. Here is where the plot thickens. Olive's sister's honeymoon to Hawaii can not be cancelled or they lose the trip entirely. In order to not let this trip of a lifetime go to waste, Olive and Ethan go on the trip together instead. Here is the scoop though........they despise each other. The story follows them on their Hawaiian adventure pretending to be the married couple by sharing the honeymoon sweet and participating in all of the honeymoon activities together. The Unhoneymooners is light and funny with a fantastic Hawaiian backdrop. Christina Lauren does an incredible job transporting readers to this island getaway. Readers will be flipping the pages as fast as they can to see how Olive and Ethan manage this trip together as sworn enemies. Will these two pseudo love birds end up surviving this trip together with their ever changing emotions? Can they maintain this lie throughout their stay? Will they maybe even learn to like each other? Pack your suitcases readers........ you are going to Hawaii. Enjoy your trip!!!!!!!!

**This ARC was provided by Gallery Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


P.S. I highly recommend protecting your new book with a gorgeous book sleeve by NERDFACESLEEVES. Warning.........these book sleeves are adorable. You may find yourself ordering more than one.


Books and Pairings for The Unhoneymooners:


Click here to check out these wicked cool book sleeves


Click here to purchase The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren



Things My Son Needs to Know About The World by Fredrik Backman ( May 7, 2019)

Here we go readers. Everyone who knows me knows that I LOVE Fredrick Backman. I will read absolutely anything this man writes. His new book, Things My Son Needs To Know About The World is a heartfelt read on the joys and fears of parenting. Having three sons of my own, I was instantly attracted to this book. Backman's book is essentially a letter to his newborn son in the form of short essays about what his son needs to know about life. His writing is beautifully crafted and pulled hard at my ever dangling heart strings. He essentially emptied his brain on the pages of his book with his own parenting fears, mistakes and hopes for the future. He writes of the everyday dealings with newborn poop and sleepless nights to the importance of finding your people, the benefits of being in a band and of course........soccer. His love for his son is bursting through the pages of this book. Not only does his writing offer his son unique advice and raw explanations of life thus far, it is also (most definitely) a love letter to his beautiful wife. Be prepared to laugh your face off, cry your eyes out and be left with a warm and fuzzy feeling after reading the last page of this short, but sweet book. Backman delivers another effortless read.

**This ARC was provided by Atria Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


P.S. There is no doubt that you will want to highlight everything that Backman has to say. To keep track of your favorite parts of the book, check out these Book Darts by MODERN MRS. DARCY.


Books and Pairings for Things My Son Needs To Know About the World:


Click here to check out MODERN MRS. DARCY'S Book Darts


Click here to purchase Things My Son Needs To Know About The World by Fredrik Backman



How Not To Die Alone by Richard Roper (May 28, 2019)

How Not To Die Alone is Richard Roper's debut fiction novel, and let me tell you this...........it is GOOOOOOD! If you enjoy books with off beat lead characters that need a little extra cheering for, this is your read. Andrew works in the field of public heath. Trying to find the next of kin for someone who died alone is a job that is anything but cheerful. His only interactions are with his co-workers and his online friends who have shared interests in electric trains. Living alone as a middle aged man is draining for Andrew. Sick of answering questions about marriage, girlfriends and kids, he spontaneously lies during his interview for his current job by saying he has a wife and two kids. This little lie was easy to keep up at first, but becomes increasingly difficult to manage as time goes on. When a new co-worker named Peggy joins his team, things get tricky. What appears to be an outlandish lie on the outside, may in fact be Andrew's way of coping with his gloomy past. What I love about this story is that so much light shines through the dark undertones. With death and funerals lingering in the background, Roper still manages to lighten the load with his lovable characters and unique storyline. It is impossible to read this book and not be rooting for Andrew and Peggy. Fans of Fredrik Backman's Britt-Marie Was Here and Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine will cherish this quirky read.


**Thank you to Putnam Books for sending me an advance copy of this book to read, review and share on Dear Mr. Hemingway!


P.S. If you want to enjoy the smell of May Flowers from the April Showers all year long, snag yourself the candle....... NICE STEMS (smells like fresh flowers and green leaves) from NUBBLE LIGHT CANDLE COMPANY. You will not regret it.


Books and Pairings for How Not To Die Alone:


Click here to check out NUBBLE LIGHT CANDLE COMPANY'S NICE STEMS Candle.


Click here to purchase How Not To Die Alone by Richard Roper



Passion on Park Avenue by Lauren Layne (May 28, 2019)

Passion on Park Avenue by Lauren Layne is the perfect New York City romance. Who doesn't love NYC in the springtime. This book has it all. Cocktails, Central Park, to die for Manhattan apartments, and above all............ Love in the Big Apple. Naomi Powell is the CEO of one of the biggest jewelry companies in the country. With a successful company and the financial freedom she worked so hard for, Naomi now mingles with Manhattan's elite. Despite her success, Naomi's rag to riches tale leaves her feeling insecure in her professional and private life. Her life becomes a bit more complicated when she moves into a new, but very familiar apartment building. Naomi quickly runs into a gentleman (Oliver) in her building that is not only gorgeous, but turns out to be someone from her childhood she deeply despises. How will she deal with their daily interactions and secretive past? With a dilemma on her hands and two new girlfriends (she uniquely meets) to help her navigate the muddy waters, Naomi embarks on a journey of self discovery, friendship and love. Layne's writing is delightful and quite touching to read. Her story has a dash of snark, a sprinkle of wit and a whole lot of NYC charm. Passion on Park Avenue is a romantic comedy filled with lovable characters that you can't get enough of. Buckle up your stilettos and put on your sunglasses........you are about to strut down Park Avenue. Enjoy this easy breezy read.

**This ARC was provided by Gallery Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


P.S. Mark your place in your book with a gorgeous Elastic Jewelry Bookmark from BOOK ART BOOKMARKS. So long paper bookmarks. Dress your book up in style with this one of a kind page saver. Park Avenue deserves a little bling!!!!


Books and Pairings for Passion on Park Avenue:


Click here to check out these fabulous bookmarks


Click here to purchase Passion on Park Avenue by Lauren Layne








  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

Dear Mr. Hemingway, LLC

© 2018 proudly created by Amanda Bantham Creative www.abanthamcreative.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon