dear mr. hemingway's 2018 holiday book pairings for the holidays

Forever A Foodie

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat:  Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking by Samin Nosrat and Illustrated by Wendy MacNaughton

There is always something new to learn when cooking.  This is a New York Times best seller for sure. Get cooking!

From the Publisher (Simon & Schuster):  “A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.”

P.S.  You can’t cook without the help of a great knife.

Soup: The Ultimate Book of Soup and Stews by Derek Bissonnett

From the Publisher (Cider Mill Press):   “Snap out of your same old soup and stew routine with hundreds of new and exciting takes on the classics—and some creative concoctions that will surely become family favorites! In soup, Chef Derek Bissonnette has compiled a veritable encyclopedia of all things soup and stew,featuring hundreds of easy-to-follow recipes paired with mouth-watering photography, as well as tips and tricks to guide you to remarkable results. In this definitive tome, Chef Derek walks readers through the science of stocks and shares tricks of the trade when it comes to prep  work and mise en place. It doesn’t matter if you’re an omnivore, gluten-free, vegetarian, or vegan, this compendium of delicious soups and stews contains recipes that will satisfy all dietary needs. Whether you are planning a casual family supper or a formal dinner for 20—Soup will help elevate your meal from “Ho, Hum”, to “Hey Now!”

P.S.  Cook your soups and stews in this beauty for the ultimate cook lovers’ gift.

The Lost Kitchen: Recipes and a Good Life Found in Freedom, Maine by Erin French

This restaurant in Freedom, Maine, may be impossible to get a reservation for, but at least you can enjoy some of the mouth watering recipes from the cookbook

From the Publisher (Clarkson Potter):  “Erin French grew up in Freedom, Maine (population 719), helping her father at the griddle in his diner.  An entirely self-taught cook who read cookbooks to form her culinary education, she now helms her acclaimed restaurant, The Lost Kitchen, in a historic 1834 mill in the same town, creating meals that draw locals and visitors from around the world to a dining room that feels like an extension of her home kitchen. Each spring, the day the phone line opens to accept reservations, the restaurant books up for the entire year.”

P.S.  Every great chef needs one of these unique cutting boards.

Cook Like a Pro:  Recipes and Tips For the Home Cook  by Ina Garten

This is another must have for all you Ina fans.  She never disappoints!

From the Publisher (Clarkson Potter):  “In her new cookbook, Cook Like a Pro, Ina Garten shares a brand-new collection of recipes, tips, and techniques, so readers can cook with confidence no matter how much experience they have in the kitchen. “

P.S.  It is time for everyone who cooks from Ina’s cookbooks, to proudly wear a Barefoot Contessa Apron.   How can you not?  

Eat What You Love:  Everyday Comfort Food You Crave; Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and Paleo Recipes by Danielle Walker

This is Danielle’s 4th cookbook.  She is amazing!!!!! I am hoping someone buys it for me.

 From the Publisher (Penguin Random House):  “From the New York Times best-selling author of the Against All Grain series comes 125 recipes for gluten-free, dairy-free, and paleo comfort food, from nourishing breakfasts and packable lunches to quick and easy, one-pot, and make-ahead meals to get satisfying dinners on the table fast.”

P.S.  Time will be saved cooking with this bad boy! 

dear mr. hemingway's 2018 holiday book pairings for the holidays

This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me. My links are not affiliate links. I do not make compensation from my links. Some links may be in collaboration with a book store solely for exposure. 

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

Dear Mr. Hemingway, LLC

© 2018 proudly created by Amanda Bantham Creative www.abanthamcreative.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon